Finding Inspiration

Greetings! I’ve got three days to fill you in on!  What a whirlwind this week has been.

Yesterday, I managed to wrangle the day off which was lovely, but I have come to realize that recently, my days off are filled with overly practical things: tons of errand-running, appointments, planning etc. Sometimes I crave a good, old-fashioned day off. Maybe one day! (Today, however, I did have a delightful coffee date with an old work friend and her three-year-old daughter. Definite highlight of my day.)

Last night, I DID manage to find myself at the gym (much later than I had originally planned!) and had a semi-spastic, but wonderful workout that incorporated a 20-minute treadmill run, dumbbell arm workout and an ab circuit. I really did forget how great it feels to be at the gym! (ALTHOUGH, finding floorspace, even at night is absolutely impossible. Tonight was no exception! I swear that the dude with the vacuum cleaner was chasing us from mat to mat. I didn’t appreciate it.)

Anyway, let’s talk about inspiration.

In recent months, I have come to the realization that inspiration can come from the unlikeliest of places. We all need a nudge/boost/reminder that we aren’t alone sometimes and it has seemed to me that that inspiration can come from the strangest of places. Not long ago, I watched a recent Jenna Marbles video (I’m not proud, but I LOVE her videos. She’s hilarious. No, they’re not clean, and no, they’re not appropriate, but they are wonderful— for those of you who don’t know, Jenna Marbles is a youtube comedian. Due to the nature of her videos, I won’t tell you to watch them, but watch them…WHO SAID THAT?!) where she “drew her life” and talked about being confused and not necessarily knowing what she was looking for and that struck so many chords with me. At one point, she mentioned that “I think that if I had everything figured out, that I would be doing something wrong because it makes it so that you can’t grow.” I have been playing that phrase on LOOP in my mind and I really and truly believe it. I do think that sometimes, if everything seems comfortable, something isn’t right. Such a major revelation, and talk about unlikely sources!

I guess it doesn’t matter where you find the inspiration, all that matters is that you find it, right??

Well, I am off to bed as I have a busy, busy weekend of work ahead. I will try my best to check in!

Have a great night!!

 

Leave a Reply

