23 Years and Some New Kicks Later…

Hello friends!

I hope that you’ve had a great week!

Today was a big day in Brittany world. Today was my birthday!

I must say, it is next to impossible to not be a little nostalgic and reminiscent on a birthday! I remember when I was turning twenty and it felt like the world was ending! A dear friend of mine actually wrote me a silly fairy tale as my birthday card that year that attempted to convince me that everything was going to be juuuust fine. (I still have it and read it from time to time!)

Today, I was thinking about all of the things that have happened in the last year; about all of the places that I’ve gone and things that I’ve done and people that I’ve met and things that I’ve learned.

Last year at this time, I was panicked. I was worried about what I was going to do with the rest of my life, I was trapped in the past and tired and confused. Now, I am SO excited to see where life takes me. I still don’t know for certain what the heck I’m doing, I’m not 100% sure where I’m going or what I want, but for once, that mystery is exciting! Twenty-three is off to a pretty good start. 😉

And now, on the workout front.

First thing is first, my workout buddy Jordan (fourth summer in a row!) is soon to return and I couldn’t be happier. I am so excited to get back into the swing of things. I absolutely can NOT believe how much a new, semi-sedentary job can impact your lifestyle, but Jordan is a great motivator and having someone to answer to makes those daily workouts FAR more likely (and enjoyable!!).

In honor of the big 2-3, I invested in a special little present for myself…

sneaks

 

I have invested in a new pair of running shoes! If you recall, last summer, I invested in a pair of brand new running sneakers (the bright ones that are featured on the main banner of this website!), but they just didn’t work for me. I actually didn’t even end up wearing them for the race that I initially purchased them for! Ironically, those shoes were selected for me by a “professional” at a running gear store, but something just wasn’t right! These little babies, on the other hand, I selected myself from Dicks. (They’re Brooks, if you’re interested…) I really didn’t expect to like them, but the second I slid them onto my feet, I knew that they could make all of the difference. They have GREAT arch support and the sole has just the right amount of give for me, but what really sold me was how well they worked on my rather wide, flat feet. Some of the other big name running shoes that I’ve tested (like Mizuno and Under Armour) are far too narrow for me. I have yet to try them on the move, but as soon as I do, I will be sure to update!

Get ready, get set, let’s run!!!!!!!!!!

Have a great night!

One thought on “23 Years and Some New Kicks Later…

Leave a Reply

