The Crux of the Matter

Oh, my friends. Look at this, two weeks later, what is this nonsense about?!

Things that I’ve  been having a little too much fun doing recently: Studying GRE words, watching trees bloom, planning budgets, pinning motivational quotes on Pinterest. (That right there is, essentially, a synopsis of the last two weeks of my life. Make of that what you will.)

It is probably a no-brainer that my life has gotten the better of me over the course of the last couple of months! If you read my most recent update, there came a point where my practical life was overshadowing my ME life. Finally, I found a way to regain a little bit of balance. I figured out where I needed to make changes, and I started to think about ways to incorporate some of the things that were most important to me back into my life. (IE: running, fitness, reading, spending time with my frieds…. writing. Being a real person).

And then, I got a little stuck.

The nuts and bolts were there: the plan, the desire, the conviction, but something still wasn’t right.

Now, on a (closely related) side-note, I also managed to sprain my ankle last weekend. It wasn’t pretty and landed me relatively immobile for a few more days than I had hoped. Fortunately, my ankle is on the mend and feeling infinitely better than it was, but that little stumble put a serious damper on my gym routine.

Back to my point, so what wasn’t right?

That is exactly what I am trying to figure out right now. And I think I’ve finally got it.

In my last post, I mentioned that I had stopped making time for me. I temporarily lost sight of just how critically important the “little” things in life were to me (reading, writing, gym-going, friend-seeing). So that part was easy enough. A simple matter of figuring out what I enjoyed doing, what I used to do, and what, of those things, I was no longer doing.

Time is scarce, but when something is important enough, I think that we usually make the time for it. (Errrr usually…)

So where did that leave me? Realizing that there was something bigger at work. Saying “I miss going to the gym.” and “I should start going to the gym again.” is one thing, but figuring out what was getting in the way in the first place, and determining whether or not it’s worth the sacrifices involved is another one entirely.

So now is the time to get to the core of it. To get to the crux of the matter!

I am not entirely sure how to go about doing that, but I am definitely ready to start.

I hope that you have all been well. Check in tomorrow for a SECOND CONSECUTIVE POST. Holy cats, what’s that all about?

I hope you have a great night!

Leave a Reply

