Where Have You Been!?!?!

…hello?

…….is this thing on?

I know what you’re thinking. You’re wondering where the heck I have been.

I cannot tell you exactly how much I wish I had a good answer to that question… but I do not. 

By now, you are probably well aware of how much I love my quotes, right? One of my favorites (I say that about all of the ones that I share with you guys, but that makes sense, right? I should only share the best ones! Who cares for blah motivational quotes? Not I.) Anyway, back to what I was getting at– one of my very favorites is this gem: “Sometimes, when things feel like they are falling apart, they are actually falling into place.” I think that is exactly what has happened to me in recent weeks.

I fell off of the bandwagon. Big time. Suddenly, every moment of every day was occupied. I couldn’t bring myself to let go of the things that were most important to me– time at home, spending time with friends… (heck, even sleeping!), but in making time for all of those things, the most important thing– my healthy habits and routines were tossed to the wayside.

Now please don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that I suddenly gained inordinate amounts of weight, or lost control, but I just didn’t have the same focus that I had maintained so diligently for so many months.

So what was the problem??

It’s a complicated question with about a zillion answers, but by and large, I think the transition into my new job is at the root of it. I am so grateful to have a wonderful job with fun people, but just like any major life change, it came with a hefty learning curve. I didn’t have time to myself anymore, nor did I have tons of extra energy. (Isn’t it ironic that while eating healthfully and getting your rear-in-gear with exercise actually BOOST your energy, they’re the first things to go when you’re feeling zapped?)

I could feel it happening throughout the weeks. As my schedule was changing, so was my diet. And my gym routine. And my priorities. And (not to be dramatic), but so was my life.

It hit me like a ton of bricks.

In putting my work and that transition first, I lost track of the things that were helping me to become a stronger,  healthier, happier person. A better person, really.

To be perfectly honest, that’s a scary revelation to come to. A scary one, but a defining one.

Please, let it be known that this isn’t just about the gym. It’s about so much more than that…

Let’s take the blog for example!

I love to write. In my younger days, I would write constantly– everything from poems to short stories to plays… but as I got older and my days got a little bit busier, I stopped making the time for it. And then, this really cool and nifty thing called the internet popped into my mind and one day, I said to myself, “Hey, self. You should start a blog!” And so I did. (Granted, if you read my post about how this whole thing began, there was much more to it than that), but it was a way for me to force myself to write again. This blog was a way for me to hold myself accountable for my choices (diet choices AND life choices) and to communicate with a whole new world of people.

Writing for this blog reminded me how much I love to write. It reminded me of what a big difference sharing things with friends can make in holding yourself to high standards and how much fun it can be to have a creative outlet.

But then, I ran out of time. Come to find out, getting home from work late means eating late which means going to bed late which means sleeping in late which means… heywaitaminute… where’s the “which means taking the time to write a blog post?” Oh right. It’s NOWHERE.

So I didn’t.

And then, suddenly, junk food crept into the picture. Business trip food crept into the picture. Excuses for skipping the gym were my second language.. “it was too busy!” <–OK, to be fair, that one was actually 100% legit for some of that time!, it was too late, I didn’t have a buddy to go with, I was too tired, I was too achey, I had too many things to do, I had to get up early, my alarm didn’t go off, the dog ate my homework, I had to rescue a cat that was stuck in a tree. Blah. Blah. Blah.

So I wouldn’t go.

Well guess what guys. Brittany’s back.

It’s time to jump back in the saddle. It won’t be easy. In fact, my schedule is even messier now than it was throughout the last month and a half, but my will is back.

It doesn’t take too terribly long to see the negative results of leading a more sedentary, less healthful life. It’s sad and slow and tiring. I don’t want to do that anymore.

When my “health kick” began last June, I promised myself that I wouldn’t regress, but life happens, right?

But I have recommitted. I have finally promised myself to stop letting inconvenience stop me from doing the things that I know are so incredibly important.

Tonight, I went to the gym. I “ran” on the treadmill and pedaled my heart out on the elliptical. It wasn’t a great workout, it wasn’t particularly lengthy, but it was so nice to be there. (Also, I think the crowds have FINALLY TAPERED OFF. Good gracious.) Sara Bareilles cooed motivational words to me and I powered through.

Soon, the 70-degree days will lend themselves to my outside runs and I couldn’t be happier about that because, boy, could I use some springtimey loveliness.

Guess what? In August, I’m running that half marathon that I signed up for waaaay back when. And I’m going to be stronger than ever before. In every way possible.

Thank you for reading. Let’s do this thing.

One thought on “Where Have You Been!?!?!

  1. It’s nice to finally see an update! I felt like I went through some of the same things but I still have to start my jogging again. I also haven’t been eating as healthy either. I’m hoping to get back on that when I get home but I’m glad you started again 🙂

Leave a Reply

