If All You Can Do is Crawl…

Hello! I hope you had a great weekend!

Let’s talk about giving Les a second chance. Les Mills, that is.

I just discovered something that has made me unbelievably excited: I can take a BodyPump class this week! Now I know what you’re thinking. Yes, it’s true, I have had a ridiculously tumultuous relationship with BodyPump. It was a classic love-hate situation. If you’ve been following right along, you may remember that just before I pretty much gave up on the ‘pump, I felt like it was bulking me up in all of the wrong ways. (Yes, every professional in the fitness field will tell you that women “can’t bulk up,” but none of those people have talked to me!)

I was noticing my body changing in ways that I didn’t necessarily love and so I ended up pretty much phasing the class out of my routine.

Eventually, however, I realized that perhaps my BodyPump habits weren’t the greatest– especially considering my goals. Previously, I would take the class just about every time it was offered throughout the week. I pushed myself just a little too far on the weights and I think now, in retrospect, I can see where I got myself into bulkyland. And now, I have decided to give it a go again. I am going to try to incorporate the class into my schedule at least once a week now. (Which sometimes, won’t even be possible given my crazy work schedule!) Hopefully, that will be just the right “dose” to help me whip those muscles back into shape and to get me hurting again in the fantastic way that actually makes you SERIOUSLY think twice before you pick up that peanut butter cup. 😉

And now, for the main event.

Pinterest is a goldmine. Where else can you find recipes, workouts, outfits, DIY crafts, and life tips all in the same spot??

I have recently grown pretty fond of the “inspiration” boards. As cliche as it may sound, motivational quotes and witty quips can really do wonders for getting you through some bumpy patches. (I have previously shared a list of some of my favorite quotes with you and I plan to do that again. I do love sharing motivation!)

Recently, I have been thinking a lot about making changes. And I have been making a lot of changes. Sometimes, I get a little frustrated with myself when I’m starting to feel like I’m moving a little too slowly. Sometimes, I want to change a million and one things at the same time, I want everything to be better— different when I say go. But in time, I have come to realize something: the slow, steady, thoughtful changes that I make tend to be the best ones. And so, today, I leave you with this Rumi gem that I discovered just the other night: “If all you can do is crawl, start crawling.”

Start Crawling

 

 

That’s where I’m at. At a time when sometimes I want to fly and change everything at once, I also often find myself wondering where the days go. I wonder how I got to where I am now and what I’ve missed along the way. 

Strange little Catch-22s like that make me think that maybe sometimes, crawling isn’t such a bad thing…

1 thought on “If All You Can Do is Crawl…

Leave a comment