Preemptive vs Reconciliatory Workouts

Do you like my fancy pants words?

Did I just wreck it by saying “fancy pants”? Probably.

So let’s talk about work food. Today, my work food consisted of one serving of Progresso Hearty Tomato soup that I followed up later in the afternoon with a Clif Builder protein bar.

Are you disgusted? I certainly am. One of these days, guys. I swear. I’ll get my act together.  (Things started off well enough with a nice, filling bowl of oatmeal topped with a spoon of peanut butter. So filling and tasty! Maybe not all is lost.)

We have reached a point, my friends. I have never been one to hide my less-than-wise eating choices from my dear readers. Garbage plates have made it to the blog. Cakes have made it to the blog. Unreasonable amounts of chocolate have made it to the blog. But I am starting to notice an unsettling trend in my eating habits: I am being careless. I am ALL about splurges. I am 100% for celebrating special occasions. For giving in to those random “you-know-what-would-be-delicious-right-now?” cravings. But the one thing that is absolutely essential, is awareness of what you’re doing. What are you eating? Why are you eating it? Recently, my answers to those last two questions have been “Junk.” and “Because it’s there.” Time for some discipline! I have decided to start tracking myself again. Not to the point of “dieting,” but just to get myself back in the groove of holding myself accountable for making healthier choices! Read: BRING SOME DECENT FOOD TO WORK SO YOU DON’T STARVE ALL DAY AND EAT LIKE A PIG ONCE YOU FINALLY LAND BACK HOME.” Fortunately, I think that (overall), my relationship with food is very healthy, I enjoy eating healthfully, but I can also appreciate my treats. And come to find out, when those treats come in moderation, it makes them even more enjoyable. Time to snap back into action! 

And while we are on the note of lifestyle accountability, let’s talk gym routines.

Back in the day, when my job was just ten minutes around the corner and my workday began at 8:15, I was able to make it to the gym in the morning. And when I had days off (during the week), I was able to take a few classes here or there, or at the very least, make it in at a decent time where I would not only have the option of using the activity room for my circuits and random workouts, but also of having my choice of equipment to use. If it was feeling like a bike-to-treadmill-to-elliptical-back-to-bike kind of day, I could hop around the gym floor to my little heart’s content, but that is NOT the case anymore. Nowadays, I leave the house for work around 6:30. Even on the days when I tote the gym bag off with me, by the time I return home, it’s prime time at the gym. Good luck getting in the door! As you have probably figured out though, that is just about the only option that I’ve got, but space and machine-availability isn’t my only problem with evening gym time. 

Recently, I have come to notice that when I used to make time for the gym in the morning, it would start my whole day off on the right foot. Not only did it make me feel good about myself from a psychological standpoint and give me a clearer mind to charge through my day with, but kicking the day off with some good ‘ole physical activity would set me on the right path for my eating habits too. The physical activity would encourage me to eat a healthy breakfast. The healthy breakfast would stick with me and keep me full and keep me from making bad decisions throughout the rest of the day. Long story short, an active morning led to healthier choices throughout the rest of the day.

On the FLIP side, an evening appointment with the gym seems to be more of a “Uh oh. Where did those Oreos go!!?!? Time to run it off!” type of affair. It’s all about cleaning the slate from the rest of the day, and it’s a terrible way to go about things!

So, it’s time to make some changes. To make some scheduling accommodations, some food changes and to get back on the path that I was trucking down so happily for the better part of 2012!

As I have mentioned very briefly, next week, my company’s 8-week walking challenge begins! I think this might be the perfect time to set all of this in motion. I wonder if maybe I can some of my co-workers to join me…

So here’s my question for you, what do you do when you suddenly realize that your recent habits haven’t been the best for your long-term health and fitness goals? AND

Do you prefer early-riser workout time, or pm-punch of activity?

I hope you all had a great day and I will see you all again tomorrow!

 

2 thoughts on “Preemptive vs Reconciliatory Workouts

  1. Orrrr….do you cut your whole day in half by exercising at like 1pm and then by the time you’re done showering it’s like 3:30 and you still have 5 hours of work to do? What about that option? : )

    One thing I’ve realized is that if it’s a choice between work or health, my instinct is to always choose work. (Same goes for other “X and health” choices.) Recently, I’ve been forcing myself to sometimes choose health — e.g. take the time to make lunch rather than eating that random piece (loaf) of bread on the counter, or exercise despite being busy — with the thought that this assignment, this pay period, this whole job will be a memory in a year or two but my health will be with me… or not with me… forever. (For my forever, anyway.) Granted, I have a flexible schedule that makes it possible for me to make those choices, but… it’s still hard.

    • That is an excellent point. The OTHER problem, aside from convenience is the fact that right now a lot of times it’s a struggle between SLEEP and exercise which is a tumultuous one to be sure, especially since sleep is healthy too! It is getting QUITE old. Also, I totally hear you on the food front. THAT is definitely an issue of just making the time (and the commitment, I suppose).

Leave a Reply

