Taxes? Child’s Play.

Well, well, well. Look who it is!

My sense of time has been allll out of whack today! I don’t know what it was, but it all began with my drive in to work this morning that felt as if it took three and a half hours. It’s a long drive, but not quite THAT bad.

I am pretty positive that my lack of accurate timing had everything to do with the fact that, for some reason, my alarm clock sent me into total and complete panic mode this morning. It honked at me looong before it was time to wake up so I “snoozed” it, but ended up taking things a little too far and ultimately woke up quite a bit later than I intended to. I was quite confused by the whole situation (hey, it was early!) and I think that set the tone for my day: a confusing one.

In other news, today, I spent a good chunk of time doing things that made me feel 105 years old. I made a budget, I made a money plan, I organized my taxes. I don’t know when life matters got so serious and boring, but that was quite an exercise in frustration. Ironically, it got me thinking about the things that I used to do when I was a little kid. Every year, after my mom would file her tax paperwork, I would sit at my little “desk” at home and help my favorite stuffed animals to “file their taxes.” I used to love all of the forms and stapling and highlighting and signing. It made me feel like a grownup. What a silly, silly little child I was because let me tell you, in REAL life, filling out tax forms is literally the worst. It is so strange to think back on that now; when I used to play grocery store and “go shopping” or when I’d play school and do “homework” to mimic my older sister who was in high school at the time. Isn’t it strange to think that the things that drive us batty now could actually be considered fun at one point in our lives? 

Was there ever an activity that you loved to do as a kid in an attempt to be a “grownup” that lost ALL of its appeal when you actually had to do it? I’m sure there were lots of those activities in my early years, but I’d have to say that tax-filing remains at the top of the list. (Also, what kid would ever find that even REMOTELY amusing? One who loves paperwork and office supplies, that’s who.)

Anyway, other than lots and lot of budgeting, the rest of my day was a little on the dull side.

EXCEPT FOR THE MAJOR REALIZATION THAT I CAME TO AT LUNCHTIME TODAY!

…the break room at work has a toaster oven.

I know, it probably doesn’t SOUND like a major revelation, at least not right now, but ohhhh the possibilities. The creations that await me at the noon hour are infinite!

It may sound stupid, but I have actually found myself thinking about the things that I’d be able to do with a toaster oven for lunches (think: my pizza english muffins that I love oh-so much and that are actually QUITE filling. Bam. DONE.). I’m so stinkin’ excited I just can’t wait. —-for my budget to allow me to buy english muffins and pizza sauce. Heh. 😉

I hope you all had a great day. I’ll talk to y’all tomorrow!

G’night!

Leave a Reply

