Some Starbucks Inspiration

Happy Friday, friends!

A 7:45 meeting this morning had me stumbling out of the door brrriiiiight and early. (Who am I kidding? It was black as night.)

Fortunately for me, I managed to carve out enough time for a Starbucks pit stop. Such a lovely treat. As a way to cage the spending rage, and to also cap the coffee cals., I have made a little deal with myself. I have decided to allow myself Starbucks stops en route to work twice a month: the two mornings monthly that I have those early meetings! Not only will it serve as EXTRA incentive to get my keister out of the door early, but it will also tackle the cost/calorie issue! Now. Let’s see how long that lasts. 😉

Today, I managed to incorporate TWO pieces of fruit into my lunch. I had an orange AND a banana and was just a little too proud of myself.

photo (74)

I can’t believe how wonky my eating habits have become in the past couple of weeks! It is actually ridiculously scary when I actually think about how my lack of free time has quickly become my worst enemy. Not only does it affect my meal-planning, but moreover, it seriously gets in the way of my gym time. I know that there is an adjustment period whenever you start something new, but I really need to find a way to make this schedule work for my healthy living goals. Yikes!

So, let’s cut to the title chase here.

Today, I bumped into a rather stressful situation that (very long story short) revolved around getting stuck smack dab in the middle of a pretty sticky mess. Throughout recent months, I have made it my personal goal to STOP caring about the way that others act. It is my daily mission to live my life for me, and to act ONLY in ways that I legitimately endorse 100%. Everyone makes mistakes, everyone has missteps and sometimes those missteps may affect your life, but when it all comes down to it, YOU are really the only person who is in control of YOU, right? So what does that mean? It means that even though I may not always like what is happening around me, or the ways that things are handled or the things that people think, that is entirely out of my control. But the way that I act and react and think are all things that I have at least some degree of control over. But, in the thick of frustration and disbelief, it can get a little challenging to remember that. Which is exactly what happened today. Until I looked at my water bottle that I picked up from Starbs.:

photo (75)

Ethos.

I know it sounds weird, but that one little word popped out at just the right moment. Ethos are guiding beliefs or ideals. The word itself goes hand-in-hand with character.

Sometimes, one simple word is all it takes to remind me of what is important. Character. You control what you can control, and take responsibility for yourself and your actions. In my mind, leading your life with good character and good intentions is most important. I am a firm believer that when you take those two goals to heart, things will be just fine. I can only take control of me and what I do, right? 

Who woulda thunk that a BRAND NAME (that evidently, is helping children to get clean water!) would snap me out of highly flustered mode and back to reality? Thanks for the life reminder, Starbucks!!

My day came to a close with a mug of Keurig hot chocolate. Yes, I STILL hate the k-cup deal. I will never understand.

photo (73)

After work, my night was filled with some tutoring and also some old-fashioned catch-up time with friends/ former co-workers which was quite lovely.

And now it is time for bed because I am so tired that I am 99% positive that a feather could knock me down.

Have a fantastic night and I will be back tomorrow! TGIF!!

Leave a Reply

