Food Swaps & Retrieved Pottery

Hello there!

I hope that you all stayed safe in this nutty weather that’s been happening in the northeast! It is so crazy how localized snowstorms can be. My new drive to work takes me right along the lake for quite a while. As I sat in my office and stared out of my window at the perfectly calm weather, I was receiving constant text updates from friends at home warning me about how bad the snow was getting. I ultimately decided to leave the office early and continue working from home to ensure that I didn’t get stuck traveling in the thick of it at rush hour, but I felt so silly because all was perfectly still there! I was very happy that I left, however, because as soon as I was about twenty minutes away from home, the snow was coming steadily. There were accidents left and right and it was pretty rough going!

Anyway, I hope that you were all able to stay safe and sound. Here’s to hoping that the power remains too!

Last night, I received an exciting package in the mail from Katherine! Katherine now lives several states away and at one point, we were discussing Wegmans (yes, the grocery store. Our lives are quite exciting.) Katherine mentioned how much she missed having a Wegmans right around the corner and I was saying that I wished Western New York had a Whole Foods. Don’t get me wrong, I love Wegmans, but Whole Foods is just a magical little land.

My very first combination arrived yesterday, here’s what was in it:

photo (40)

 

You can barely see it, but on the left, there is a bag of the World’s Most Delicious Granola. For Christmas, my sister got me some vanilla-pomegranate granola from Whole Foods that was absolutely delicious. This one was blueberry almond and I can’t get enough of it. It is the best blueberry-flavored ANYTHING that I have ever tasted. I’ve been putting it in oatmeal and yogurt. (I also brought a small bag to work “for my yogurt” that I busted out by 10 am and proceeded to devour in two minutes flat.)

She also included a jar of dark chocolate Peanut Butter & Co. peanut butter. SO delicious. It’s like the best of the Nutella and Peanut Butter lands combined into one lovely little container.

I am very excited about our healthy food swaps. Now the ball is in my court so I better get thinkin’ about some of Wegmans’ Finest.

And now for the retrieved pottery:

photo (43)

 

When Chloe was home for winter break, we went to a local pottery store where you can pick out your piece and paint it yourself. It’s actually a lot of fun, my only beef is that there is a $10 studio fee which I think is a tad ridiculous, but I don’t go often. Just the other day, I finally picked up my new sign!

I was really looking for something that I could use and enjoy every day. Granted, a sign isn’t particularly “useful,” but I thought that the message was just perfect to stick on my desk. Believe in yourself, believe in others, believe in good… all very important things to keep stuck in my brain when the going gets stressful. I actually spent two sessions at the store painting this because I really wanted to make sure that the final product was something that I was happy with. (Previous outings to this place have resulted in some lack-luster pieces…typically my impatience gets the better of me and I surrender early on.) I am loving this one though!

I think that’s all for tonight, folks! I will leave you with a picture of the ridiculously wintery wonderland that is WNY…

photo (44)Oh hey there, snow. What up?

2 thoughts on “Food Swaps & Retrieved Pottery

Leave a Reply

