The Cat is Out of the Bag!

Hello my friends!

So I think some of you guessed this already. (Some of you are awfully good at reading between the lines!) But now that the cat is officially out of the bag, I am happy to share some exciting news with you.

I have a new job! Just a few weeks ago, I was hired for my first full-time job post-graduation.

I am so excited about this new opportunity and so far, the experience has been fantastic. I have been dying to share the news on the blog, but there were a few people remaining (who I don’t see particularly often) that I really wanted to tell in person before they found out from blogland so I bit my (cyber) tongue and held it in. That being said, it is NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE to maintain any sort of privacy these days. Generally speaking, I am a pretty private person, but I am certainly not so naive as to think that Facebook is in any way secretive or private. In fact, I kind of just assume that anything and everything that I put on there is for anyone and everyone to see. But since taking this job, I’ve come to realize just how small the world really is. I was at an event a week or so ago and within minutes the council that hosted the event had posted a picture with my full name and location on it. One of my Facebook friends happened to be a “fan” of the council’s page, saw my picture and tagged me in it for all to see. This all happened within about 5 minutes! You have to act QUICKLY if you want to beat the media to any sort of news-breaking. People are fast. Yikes!

So anyway, I think that probably explains my random weekends away, and my lunches-on-the-go and my new affinity for The Limited!

I had a great experience at my last job. I spent a significant chunk of some very critical years there (hello ages 15-22!) and I made some life-long friends during that time. I learned how to be a hard worker, how to hold myself accountable and how to be reliable, but it was time for me to push myself out of my comfort zone and to test out my freshly-graduated wings!

So all-in-all, today was a very good day. (Despite the fact that I think I somehow managed to skip lunch and ate nothing other than a Starbucks scone between the hours of 8 am and 10 pm). I also got to babysit some of my lovely charges tonight. We spent the evening painting nails (twice… three times over, in some cases. Nothing is easy when you’re six!) and watching The Sound of Music!

I hope you had a great night! I will talk to you tomorrow. (Hopefully AFTER procuring a new gym keytag. I really wish I could find that stinkin’ thing! Stupid $10 replacement fee! Sheesh!)

Leave a Reply

