Balance

Hey there!

Remember when I took that CPR class last month? Well, I have some good news! I just received my official Heartsaver CPR/AED card in the mail! Hopefully, I will never have to use the skills that I learned that day, but I am definitely happy to have it.

CPR CardWoohoo! This is actually pretty exciting because now, as soon as I decide that I have enough time/ money/ investment I can begin to pursue certification for group exercise classes which would be such a kick. I’d love to be able to do personal training, but at this point in my life, I am not certain that it would be a wise investment. (Have any of you looked into this? The textbook alone for that costs more than my car. OK, that’s an exaggeration, but only a slight one!) Before I jump on that boat, I want to be pretty positive that I am very serious about actually training and have something specific lined up for myself.

And now let’s talk about balance.

Balance-quote

 

Source.

So although I have previously alluded to the fact that (along with my coordination and flexibility), my sense of balance just is NOT what it used to be in recent years, that is not actually what the title of this post is about.

As you have probably noticed, I have a new vibe for 2013. A vibe of positivity, growth, and improvement and I am working to share that with you through the blog. (Hey, something needs to fill the void when Brittany goes AWOL from the gym for days on end, right? Might as well make it something meaningful!)

So today’s, let’s talk about maintaining (or perhaps initially finding) balance in your daily life.

I am a firm believer that the key to true happiness is finding balance in all that you do. That is not to say that I have always, or even now always do that. I recently described it as a set of scales– the old fashioned ones with the weights on the balance bar. If you think of your life as having one of those for just about every aspect, it’s actually a pretty good visual. There are so many dimensions of life that you must work to find the perfect balance: the work-life balance, a balance of healthy living, fun and seriousness, socializing and solitude. The list could go on and on. For me, I seem to have the most trouble with the work-life balance. From my years in high school when I took too many classes and worked too many hours, all the way through college, where those same habits followed me until the bitter end. As strange as it sounds, I never made time to be a stupid teenager and I really do regret that now.

But there is always time to change for the better, right? So things have been happening quickly in the land of 5ks & Coffee Beans, but I have decided that now is the time to commit to finding and fostering that critical balance. So here is my question for you, what do you do to maintain the yin and yang of your life? Do you struggle with keeping your work and outside life in check, or something different? What do you do to help keep yourself sane and to get the best of all of your worlds?

In other news, Happy Groundhog’s Day, three days late. 😛 (Thank you, Pinterest for the adorable Groundhog’s Day dessert idea.)

photo (32)

 

Hope you have a fantastic night and I’ll talk to y’all tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

