Things Work Out

Hello, hello!

First, let’s quickly debrief on the fact that I ate 2 Clif Builder’s bars today. I didn’t mean to, but I always keep one in my purse for “worst case scenarios. Evidently, I wasn’t really around much “real food” today and ultimately scarfed two of those magical little bars. Including the emergency supply that lived in my purse! Who thinks I’m going to wake up tomorrow morning as this guy?

the hulkSource.

No one thinks that? OK good.

Once again, my weekend plans have taken me away from home, so I am left to my own devices for sustenance! Apparently, my abilities to feed myself on the go leave something to be desired.

Let’s move on to some more serious matters (not that food isn’t a serious matter. Don’t get me wrong!).

Today, I have been doing a lot of thinking.

You know how sometimes, there are those little moments in life where you step back and think about the things that have happened in the past? About places you’ve been, things you’ve done, things you wish you did, things you wish you didn’t do. You get frustrated and upset. 2012 brought me a lot of those moments.

But then, something clicks. Just enough things begin to go your way and suddenly, a switch flips. Things begin to make a little more sense. You see a little more reason in the how and why and you start to truly believe that everything is going to be just fine. And just like that, things begin to be just. Fine. 

As I start to get a little older and a little more post-grad-y, I am beginning to realize the truly wonderful things that come from keeping a positive attitude. Positivity makes you  resilient and resilience makes you stronger– it makes you a better person, and it is infectious.

I think that’s enough of the Musings for now, however. So let’s move along to the Look du Jour!

(Please be prepared for not only the look on my face (which despite the creep factor, is actually the look of shame that it took me about 175 to get a picture that was even remotely acceptable to share with the world and that picture was this and also for my hair.  Hi hair!)

Polka Dot Sweater

The thing I really liked about this outfit was the fact that it included several wardrobe staples. Things that were relatively inexpensive but can convert into about 1,003 different ensembles. (Minus maybe the funky cardigan, which, despite the fact that I couldn’t wear it every day without getting a lot of weird looks, is actually one of my prized possessions!) 

The Staples:

  • Grey Tank Top: Aerie (I originally bought this as a workout tank top, but it ended up being the perfect weight and color to wear under lots of different sweaters!
  • Navy Blue Pants: The Limited. (They’re the “Exact Stretch”, ankle-cut style that the store is promoting heavily right now. I also have a couple pairs of the Exact Stretch pants in the boot-cut style, which I actually prefer– especially for a professional look, but I can get behind the ankle-cuts as well. I think they’d look especially cute with pumps in the spring, but it is not spring yet!)
  • Ring: Lia Sophia (I actually wouldn’t suggest going the Lia Sophia route to anyone, however as my order was kind of a disaster and their customer service was far from helpful.)

So I think that’s it for now, folks! Sorry for the somewhat jumpy post, but I think we’ve covered lots of stuff! …Except for maybe where I can get my hands on 12,000 pounds of pasta. What? Who said that?!

Have a great night, and Happy February!

4 thoughts on “Things Work Out

  1. I went through that same phase too and positivity really does help! There were times this year when something not as ideal would happen but then I would stop all my negatives thoughts and tell myself that things could be a whole lot worse. For example, when I got home yesterday, I realized I left my camera case at the gala. But it could have been that I left my camera case with the camera :). Nice outfit!

Leave a Reply

