Food Fixations

Who doesn’t love a little aliteration in their lives?

Today was cold. Freaking, freezing cold. Katie and I planned to hit up the infamous BodyPump this morning (which was quite a killer, by the way. I decided that if I only hit the classes up every once-in-a-while instead of three times a week as I used to, I may be able to incorporate it into my workout plan without getting the unwanted muscle-builder effects that I was getting when I was a regular.) Anyway, when I got to the car to take off, it was so bitter cold that it felt like the door handles and steering wheel was about to snap right off when I touched it.

So I don’t know about you, but when I find a food combination that I like, I eat it by the truckload. My most recent kick is Greek yogurt with sliced banana.

banana yogurt(Yogurt: Banana ratio = 1:100)

Sure, this combination won’t be winning an Iron Chef competitions any time soon, but I am obsessed. There is something about the mix of textures and the zingy-ness of the yogurt with the sweetness of the banana slices, I’ll take 2,000 cups!

Because I’m five, the other half of my lunch consisted of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich (and not a particularly good one, I might add.)

pbj

Look, it’s even wrapped up in foil like a five-year-old’s!

So my preoccupation with Greek yogurt has gotten me thinking about some of my other food obsessions in recent days.

  • Grated parmesan cheese. Strange, right? If it were prudent, I would pile about 2 million tablespoons of the ridiculously artificial cheese on top of my dinners on a daily basis. I don’t know what the deal is.
  • Sweet potatoes. I eat about one of these every single day. Fortunately, they are packed with vitamins and are also very filling, so it’s not a bad choice, but it is a strange one.
  • Low-fat ranch dressing. I spent about 211/2 years of my life loathing salad dressings. I hated it with a deep and starving passion. Even the smell of it would make me cringe, but now, I can’t get enough.  I put it on everything

Those are the three big ones. Interestingly, 2/3 of that list is comprised of condiments which I typically don’t use at all. When I get a flavor stuck in my head, I don’t let go easily! Evidently I happened to hit the food jag phase of life a couple decades later than usual. 😛

I hope you had a great day and stayed warm. Might I suggest hiding under a blanket??

photo (15)

 

 

I will see you all tomorrow!

 

4 thoughts on “Food Fixations

  1. The bananas and Greek yogurt sounds really good! Did you use plain Greek yogurt? I’ve tried plain Greek yogurt and it’s too tangy for me, lol, but maybe the bananas will make it better. We got snow today so of course I stayed inside all day, in fact, I was covered in my blanket just like your dog :).

Leave a Reply

