The Silver Linings Playbook

Yesterday, my mom and I went to see The Silver Linings Playbook at the movie theater.

220px-Silver_Linings_Playbook_Poster

 

 

Source.

I have a confession… I’m not crazy about movies. I know that sounds ridiculous, but I am never the person who will suggest going to a movie for an outing. There are MANY movies that I love and have seen 12,000 times, but in order for me to really enjoy a movie theater adventure, I have to love the movie. Typically, I go for either scary ones or very, very funny ones. At least then I know that I will be entertained.

When I first heard about Silver Linings, I was intrigued. It involved psychology (which immediately activated the former psychology major in me) and also Bradley Cooper (*insert girlish giggle here.*)

But at first glance, it looked like it had the potential to be a little slow, but it was so far from that.

A (VERY) Brief Synopsis: The plot revolves around a man named Pat (Cooper) who is released from a mental hospital to be cared for by his loving parents. Evidently, Pat suffers from bipolar disorder and an episode involving his wife sends him into a frenzy which is what ultimately landed him in the mental health facility. Upon his release, he is determined to rekindle his relationship with the estranged wife, but in the meanwhile, he stumbles across a woman who is the yin to his bipolar yang. (Though he doesn’t admit that immediately.) The movie follows Pat along his path to recovery through manic episodes, family interactions, and his quest that is centered around his wife.

Come to find out, the movie had something for everyone. There was comedy, romance, and even some football.

The Silver Linings Playbook is without a doubt, one of the best movies that I have seen in a very long time. It was intelligent and heart-wrenching (in a non-tear-jerking way). It was a movie that made you think and even had the perfect amount of humorous moments tossed into the mix.

Best of all, each character was cast perfectly. They were convincing and likable and despite the star-studded cast (Robert De Niro,  Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence), they adopted their on-screen personalities wonderfully and the whole thing was entirely believable.

By the end of it, this movie really had me thinkingIt made me think about the people you run into on a daily basis who you really know nothing about. Oftentimes, you really don’t know who you’re talking to, what they’ve experienced, or what it is that causes them to act the way that they do. It’s easy to judge people. It’s easy to assume things about them (I am guilty of this myself, as much as it pains me to admit it.) In the wonderful way that movies do,  this film was able to show the wildly multi-faceted situations that swirl around a broken man. You get to see the people who made him the way that he was, the people who sent him over the brink, and eventually, the ones who brought him back.

It was brilliant.

Go see it.

I’ll be back tonight. 🙂

One thought on “The Silver Linings Playbook

  1. SPOILERS! Just kidding. I’d just like to point out that I watched 84 movies in 2012, and I think only one of them was “scary,” which makes it a deeply successful year. : )

Leave a Reply

