Dress Up Clothes

Happy Sunday!

After quite the lazy day yesterday, today was a refreshing blast of activity.

First of all, I was more than happy to meet Katie this morning for a workout at the gym. After eating my weight in Christmas cookies, pie, candies and potato chips for the last couple of weeks, I was dying to feel the burn. I actually felt like a little bit of a stranger when I swiped my card in at the desk this morning! Not for long, my friends, not for long.

Katie and I have made plans to make ourselves nice little gym-going schedules for the coming weeks. I don’t know about you, but when I have something planned and written down, I am 99% more likely to actually do it. Also, if I have put the time into making something nice, colorful and organized (like a calendar) it also is infinitely more valuable to me.

This morning, I also mentioned possibly attempting a late-april half marathon to Katie. She responded with a laugh and “HA. That’s cute.” So perhaps a little later in the year. 😛

On my way home from the gym, I could only think about one thing: the new coffee flavors that I received for Christmas!

Knowing my coffee ADDICTION, my family gave me a couple of bags of fun-flavored coffee and I can’t wait to try them all. One of them in particular grabbed my attention, Snickerdoodle Cookie Coffee!

Snickerdoodle Coffee

This brand makes another one of my favorite flavors, “Jamaican Me Crazy.” (This is the one that took some getting used to, even for an avid coffee-drinker! A cup of that stuff and you’ll have the most productive morning of your life!)

Anyway, this was absolutely delicious. I LOVE snickerdoodle cookies almost as much as I love my coffee beans! A perfect gift. 😉

I quickly threw together a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter and a sliced up banana and called it breakfast!

'Nana and Peanut Butter Bagel

As much as I love my holiday treats, I could FEEL the nutrients seeping into my system and filling the voids that have been filled by sugar, carbs and sprinkles in recent days!

And now, for the main topic of today’s post, “Dress Up Clothes.”

Recently, I have come to the conclusion that my stash of adult, professional clothing is quite sparse. I have bits and pieces of reasonable outfits, but not much!

In our travels today, my mom, sister and I made our way to the mall where I scooped up some of those ridiculously low post-Christmas prices and bought a “big girl dress.”

The dress immediately caught my eye. When I realized that when all was said and done, it was more than 70% off, I had to try it on and in a rare twist of events, I actually liked the way it looked on me. Mine. (Sorry ’bout that. Couldn’t resist the chance to reference Finding Nemo. 😉 )

Big Girl Dress

(For those of you who are interested, here is what the dress actually looks like since the above picture is quite dark.)

Dress

It’s still so strange to me to think about being a “real person” and the fact that I’m twenty two years old. Every time I walk into a store like Banana Republic (which is where I nabbed my deals today!), I still feel like I’m playing dress up. It always shocks me when the employees treat me like a real customer. Somewhere between the year 2000 and now, I went from being ten years old to being a “twentysomething.” (Sidenote: I hate that term.) I used to see my sister in high school and college and dream of being “that old,” but look at me now! It seemed so far away and as strange as it sounds, even when I was there myself, it seemed like something that would never end. All of that is behind me, and who knows what comes next. It’s wonderfully exciting, but spectacularly intimidating as well.

As I stood in the store tonight watching the nice sales rep steaming the wrinkles out of my new purchase, I was thinking about how I used to watch my mom iron things, wondering how long it would be before I was “big enough” to use the hot, scary iron myself. (Or until I was tall enough to see over the ironing board, for that matter. 😉 ) Now I don’t think twice about it. In fact, if anything, ironing is a monotonous chore.

One of my major goals for 2013 is to slow down and appreciate what I have, where I’ve been and where I’m going. I have spent far too much time racing from thing to thing and place to place and goal to goal that I think sometimes big chunks of time are slipping right past me! Granted, much of that can be attributed to the lifestyle (working nearly full-time and going to school full-time teaches you to move QUICKLY if nothing else!) but it’s time to slow down and smell the roses. (Ha. I sound like I’m turning 105, no?)

Every time I hop in my car in the middle of the day to run an errand, or go to an appointment, or meet up with a friend, something still doesn’t feel real. Shouldn’t I be in school!? (Of course I should be. Just ask the nice lady at the bank! –as a random aside, I could not even COUNT the number of times between the ages of 18 and 22 that customers at work would ask me what I was doing at a job during the school day, or if my “high school” had the day off. Banker lady was not alone. Yes, I know. I look like I’m fourteen. Move along.)

On a very UNRELATED note, once we returned home, I made a special New Year’s Eve (Eve) cake! (WHOSE IDEA WAS THAT!?!?! …maybe Katie was right. The half marathon can wait. 😉 )

photo-140

And so with all of that, I wish you a very happy New Year’s Eve! I hope you get to spend it with those you love and that you’re rearing and ready for a wonderful new year!

Leave a Reply

