25 Days of Blogging Christmas Challenge (Fill-Ins!)

It’s no secret at this point that I LOVE Christmastime. I love decorating and Christmas music and holiday foods and family time and holiday shopping. BUT, the time after Christmas is always quite a let-down. Suddenly it’s time to switch gears from fun, holiday cheer to gloomy January, diets and taxes!

Anyway, throughout the month of December, there were a few days of the Peanut Butter Jenny 25 Days of Blogging Christmas Challenge that I missed for one reason or another and tonight, I am going to cover the rest of those, juuuust in case the curiosity was killing you. 😉

challenge

*Ehem.*

Day 12: Wrapping paper or gift bags? This is a no-brainer. Wrapping paper. In fact, the more, the merrier. Christmas just wouldn’t be the same without tape and bows and paper to rip to shreds on your way to discovering your new treasures! (Although in a pinch, I do understand the convince of gift bags.)

Day 13: Favorite Christmas book? I am not entirely sure that I have any favorite “Christmas” books. I read a ton, but I can’t come up with one! Instead, I will share with you the strangest christmas book in all of Bookland:  Santa’s Snow Cat. Yes, this is a children’s book, (Don’t judge. I babysit a lot!) but it is a WEIRD one. It also includes words such as “despondent”. I am ALL for introducing kids to challenging books, challenging words, and interesting concepts from a young age (I definitely think that is what gets kids hooked on reading early on!), but this one is just plain nutty. Also, I’m not crazy about cats.

snow cat

(in case there was any question, this image is from Amazon.com. 😛 )

Day 14: Real or artificial tree? Real. Puh-lease.

Day 15: The best gift you’ve given. This would probably be the time I searched high and low for a special, extra-padded, extra-comfortable shoulder strap for my sister’s laptop case. I was on a MISSION and ended up finding the perfect thing online that I ordered JUST in the nick of time to receive it by Christmas. I was quite proud of myself. (This probably isn’t the “best” gift I’ve given, but for some reason it sticks out in my memory.)

Day 16: Hardest person to buy for. Anyone who says they “don’t want anything.” Also, guys are INFINITELY harder to buy for than girls any day of the week. No competition.

Day 17: Post a picture of an old Christmas card. Um. Uhhhh…. Next?

Day 18: When do you open gifts? First thing in the morning. When I was younger, this meant about 5:00 in the morning. Now, it’s whenever everyone wakes up. For the past seven years, Christmas morning for me has meant the first day of my break from work so since then, I haven’t been in too much of a hurry. Although, regardless of how old I get, the thrill of Christmas morning never seems to dissipate even if I do wake up a tad bit later.

Day 19: Favorite stocking stuffer. I love random trinkets and toys. Also nail polish. Also candy.

Day 20: Favorite Christmas meal. Christmas dinner. Especially if it involves eggplant parmesan. Or breakfast. Especially if it involves some warm, homemade treat fresh from the oven.

Day 21: Do you travel for the holidays? Not really! I love being home for Christmas.

Day 22: Egg nog or hot chocolate? Hot chocolate. With marshmallows and a candy cane.

Day 23: Your plans for Christmas 2012. Christmas 2012 involved a day of holiday festivities with the family.

Day 24: Favorite Christmas eve tradition. This has changed over the years, I used to adore my Christmas Eve “sleepovers” with my sister as I waited anxiously for Santa. I also used to love getting a new pair of pajamas every Christmas Eve. Now, having my sister and her husband arrive for the holidays is a new favorite Christmas Eve “tradition”.

Thanks for reading! See you all tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

