You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch

Your heart’s an emptyyyy hoOooOOOooOooooooOOoole!

…ehem. Sorry. We haven’t even (officially) hit December and the Christmas tunes are streaming through my brain 24/7. This one has a particular catalyst however:

photo-123

 

Check out this new cup! I found it at the Starbucks in our Barnes and Noble and I couldn’t just leave it there! Tonight, I filled it with my first cup of hot chocolate of the season, which fits perfectly with the first snow of the season! (There have been some random flurries here and there, but the snow is actually sticking this time!)

So today I had a whole list of things that I meant to do this morning, but didn’t end up doing a single one of them! I feel like every once in a while, there are a couple of things that I keep putting off and telling myself that I will do some other time. I am also very good at convincing myself that my procrastination is entirely valid (it rarely is). That leaves me in sticky predicaments that are completely avoidable! Grr. Better luck tomorrow, I suppose. I did manage to knock one thing off of the list and had an interesting conversation with an admissions counselor at a local college. It’s time to start thinking! (not that I don’t do too much of that already).

And now, for a note on humanity. I’m sure that 99.25% of you have already heard the story of the NYPD officer, the homeless man, and the boots. You can read the tale here. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this since I heard it and it has really made me think about compassion and humanity and social responsibility. I think the most incredible and meaningful part of this whole thing is the fact that this officer was entirely unaware that his picture was being taken (and in result would quickly go viral.) Instead, he simply noticed a man in need, came up with a way to help him, and did something about it.  At this time of giving and receiving (and stressing and over-scheduling), I think a story like this must be shared. (Even if it has already been shared 101 zillion times. 🙂 )

Have a great night and I’ll talk to you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

