Oatmeal ADD-ins, not STIR-ins!

Greetings, greetings! I hope you have had a lovely day. Mine was the perfect combination of play and work. This morning, I met up with Katie for breakfast and some shopping (revelation time: LONG JEANS. I probably sound like the dumbest person alive right now, but even though I have purchased long jeans from some stores before, it never really occurred to me to give them a go at my favorite store. I have always loved American Eagle jeans, they always seem to fit and they last forever. They are also often on sale and/or have applicable coupons so it’s a win-win. Recently, however, I noticed that several of the pairs that I have had for a while were a little short. Especially when I wore them at work with sneakers. So today, I got a long pair and I LOVE them. They are perfect!)

However, since tonight’s post title has absolutely nothing to do with shopping, nor the length of my jeans, let’s cut to the chase. 😉

I am an oatmeal LOVER. My obsession probably began long, long ago with the magical, fantastical Dinosaur Eggs instant oatmeal. (Have you ever tried this stuff? I was ALL about it in elementary school and then it disappeared from the grocery stores, but I assure you, it is back. Ok, so basically it’s dinosaur-shaped sprinkles cased in hard sugar that melts in the hot oatmeal (AKA THE DINOSAURS HATCH!!!!!!!!!) and it is the coolest breakfast food in the universe, pretty cool I guess…

Anyway, ever since then, I have loved oatmeal and I typically just eat it plain or with a teeny tiny bit of sugar and milk. That is mostly because anything else that I have ever added has entirely repulsed me. Recently, however, I have been trying to shake things up a bit.

It all started with chocolate chips. One of my roommates loved to put chocolate chips in her oatmeal and since it sounded like dessert for breakfast, I decided to give it a go. I stirred in a tablespoon of chocolate chips and HATED it. It was “chocolate” oatmeal. Please, brother.

Next up was peanut butter. One day I decided to stir in a tablespoon of peanut butter and it just made the oats disgustingly thick and tasted a little bit like garbage.

Eventually, I reverted to the back to the chocolate chips, but that time, I dropped them in and DIDN’T stir them. They were melty, delicious little pockets of chocolatey delight.

So today, I decided to revisit the peanut butter addition and I am totally smitten. It was fantastic.

 

So I think it finally clicked. I need to stop stirring things into the oatmeal (like chocolate chips and peanut butter.) Instead they should be accessories, of sorts. Dropped in, left untouched. Now all I can think about is tomorrow’s breakfast.

So what have we learned today, class? a) the 5’7″ + crowd may benefit from American Eagles’ “long” option and b) when making additions to oatmeal, drop, don’t stir.

 

One thought on “Oatmeal ADD-ins, not STIR-ins!

  1. Yeah, stirred chocolate chips in oatmeal made me not want to eat it when I tried this at Danforth. I’ve never had peanut butter in my oatmeal though so I guess that’s one new thing for me to try. Did you try baking the oatmeal? lol

Leave a Reply

