One Week Later…

Hello my faithful friends.

First of all, I can’t believe the cliffhanger that I left all of you with! For those of you who are avid 5KCB readers, I must apologize. I don’t know exactly what the problem is, but ever since the storm hit, we have been sans-internet in Brittany World! I am SO grateful that the internet is the only negative thing to have hit me from Sandy and my thoughts and prayers are with the victims who were hit in much more serious ways.

Now, that being said, I am still an entire WEEK behind on updates. I don’t know where to begin! Fortunately, I haven’t been up to anything too wild and crazy, so this post will be a hodgepodge of everything and with any luck, tomorrow things will be up and running fully again.

Today was a day off that was full of errands! (As usual.) I ran all over town collecting various applications for part-time employment (my store will be closing very soon!). It was endlessly stressful and even though I was able to score an application at virtually every store I stepped into. Hopefully something will work out.

I also got to hang out again with Katie today, early this morning, we met up at the gym for my favorite Total Body Conditioning class. The class was very different today from previous times and included a LOT of weight-lifting and some work with resistance-bands (<– I am in LOVE with these things. Who knew that they could be used in so many different ways!?) The class was fantastic and I definitely felt the burn.

Before class started, I hit up the elliptical (which is quickly becoming my favorite cardio machine!) and did a quick 20-minute interval workout that left me sweating even despite the short amount of time.

That is about all for today’s updates, but let me break down the rest of my week for you that you all missed out on!

Storm 

As I mentioned, I was very luck throughout the hurricane. Despite the terrifying weather advisories and the school cancellations that were happening left and right throughout my area, once the storm actually hit, we experienced nothing more than some bad wind and rain. Fortunately, everyone I care about was safe and even all of our trees remain standing!

Halloween 

Halloween was very laid-back this year. I’m never really sure what will be happening at work, sometimes the whole crew dresses up and other times, no one really gets into it! This year, I decided to go with an old standby costume of mine that is very easy to make and is always a crowd pleaser, it was an old-fashioned box of popcorn costume! My mom did this costume for me back when I was a kid and all of these years later, I decided to bring the idea back. All it took was some fresh-popped popcorn, a red marker and two sheets of poster board. After I colored the boards in with red stripes, I used a hot glue gun to glue pieces of popcorn to the top of it. Definitely a quick and easy costume to make! (I’ll try to get a picture up eventually…)

Haircut from Hell 

In case you haven’t noticed from the pictures of myself that I have included in previous posts, I have EXTREMELY curly hair. It took me the better part of the first 18 years of my life to figure out what I could do with it that didn’t involve an extremely boring, unflattering pony tail. Eventually, it calmed itself down and earlier this year, I decided to get it cut shorter than I typically do. I was very nervous, but in the end I LOVED it. It framed my face and was flattering and fun and different. It should be noted that the person who cut my hair that time was the same person who has cut my hair for the past SIX years and also the person who made me look like an untamed lion last week.

I am not entirely sure what went wrong, but for some strange reason, after years and years of cutting my hair, my stylist decided that now would be a good time to layer and thin my hair. For those of you who have little experience with these things, just take my word for it: don’t ever layer OR thin extremely curly hair. Ever. Basically it made everything stand on end and fly in every which way. She cut it about 4 inches shorter than I wanted her to and also didn’t do a single thing that I DID ask her to do. It was a disaster. That night, as I saw my dreams of a cute and sassy holiday hairstyle swirl down the drain, there were many tears involved, but after a return to the salon (grrrr.) an angry customer call (I never do that…) and about $4,500 spent on conditioners and styling agents, I have everything under control. This new ‘do (even though it’s about a foot shorter than I wanted it to be) is starting to grow on me.

Ugh.

Well I hope you all had a wonderful week and I won’t leave you in the lurch for a FULL SEVEN DAYS ever again! (I hope! 🙂 ) Tomorrow I will be sharing an extremely tasty, wildly simple, fall-inspired recipe with you. Stay tuned!

Goodbye for now!

 

 

Leave a Reply

