The Yin-Yang of October

You are not going to believe this. Guess what was cancelled AGAIN. Boot Camp! I was so disappointed. I actually really do like the combo deal of strength and cardio that the class offers and it always succeeds in making me woefully sore for days. <— The jury is still out on whether that is a good thing or a bad thing…

I decided to swing by my gym and hit up a BodyPump class instead. Fortunately, the room was far less packed than it was last Saturday. The routine was switched up a bit and some of the music was different which kept the session interesting. I am still playing a bit of a guessing game with my weight loads. There are some tracks that I know I could go higher on (for example back and legs), but other tracks I always seem to load my plates up much too high. Today I could barely finish the chest track with the weight that I had on my bar even though I thought I had gone a bit lighter than last time! In my opinion, the chest and shoulder tracks are definitely the most difficult portions of the class.

 

This chest move right here nearly killed me today:

 

Sure, it looks innocent enough, (heck, they’re lying down!) but ohmygoodness did it HURT! At one point, you are doing what they call “bottom halves” where you are pressing the bar up but never extending your arm fully, just halfway.

Somehow, I managed to skip breakfast this morning other than an apple that I had on my way home from the gym. Lunch consisted of a cup of Dunkin’ Donuts’ hazelnut coffee and also a whole wheat bagel with some peanut butter. I was actually shocked by how the bagel kept me full for just about the whole day.

And now for the main point of this whole post. The yin-yang of October.

The month of October has always been one of my very favorite months. I absolutely love fall. I love everything that comes along with autumn in New York and I know that if I ever move out of this area, I will miss this season like crazy. There are so many fun things associated with this time of year– hayrides, scarecrows, fall festivals, pumpkins, halloween, comfort foods. The list goes on and on! Even the clothes of fall are hard to beat. On top of that, my mom’s birthday is in October (Monday!) and so there is always an element of birthday-ness associated with October as well and I LOVE birthdays.

At the same time, I can’t help but to feel a little bummed around this time of year. In the midst of racing around at work and (in the past, not this year!) also having school just starting to kick into full gear at this time, I often feel like I am missing out on something. It is the end of the beautiful weather. The end of summer, the start of franticness (is that a word!?) and also for some reason, halloween always makes me feel OLD. It is always around this time each year that I start to wonder where the year has gone. It makes me think about things that I wish I had done or “should” have done. I started to think about all of those things today and it got to be a little frustrating and so now, I am going to make an active effort to enjoy this time of the year that I love so much to its very fullest. Instead of getting wrapped up in the hectic nature of this time of year, I am going to try to get back to how I felt about all of this when I was just a kid. Thrilled to be carving pumpkins, eating apples and enjoying the spooky fun that is Halloween.

Even though October seems to bring the Yin-Yang Effect along with it, I think it’s about time I get back to enjoying it as I always have before!

Well, I think that is all she wrote, folks. Work is bright and early in the morning and I am hoping to squeeze a workout in before I go. If you spend any time at all on Pinterest, I am sure that you have seen the motivational exercise quote that states something to the effect of “You’ll never regret a workout.” Apparently, that is supposed to serve as motivation to wake up early and get your keister out of bed and exercising. Today that exact phrase popped into my head, but I couldn’t help but thing “true, but I have regretted waking up too early…” 😛 Hopefully I will make it to the gym at the crack of dawn as planned!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Yin-Yang of October

  1. I love Fall too, it’s so nice seeing all the leaves in different colors, especially when there’s tons of trees around. You seem like such a pro with all this workout stuff, lol, I’m just too lazy, I don’t think I could do what those people are doing in that picture haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

