Say No To The Cookies

Hello everyone!

Today was a day full ‘o work. For some reason, when I woke up this morning, I kind of felt like I had slept for about four minutes which was terrible. Ever since my canine friend’s health scare, she has been babied to the nines around here. That babying often includes her sleeping on my bed at night. (Read: “sleeping” as “trampling over my face in the middle of the night”). That probably had something to do with my sleepiness this morning!

Anyway, I was quite upset with myself after today’s midday meal which started off well enough with a baked potato. Things took a quick turn for the worst when I decided to splurge on a cookie the size of my FACE. It was a Reese’s cup cookie with peanut butter and chocolate and deliciously wonderful, chocolatey goodness. It was definitely one of those insta-regret decisions though. I felt like I had eaten a whale and I was mad at myself for caving. I know that it’s not terrible to give in to a craving every once in a while, but I KNOW I could have made a better choice than that! It’s time for me to snap back into high alert and keep that sweet tooth of mine in check! This morning, I had my alarm set for 6:00 in hopes of getting to the gym before work which probably would have circumvented the whole cookie catastrophe, but that was definitely NOT happening. I have a much harder time picking up those sinfully tasty treats AFTER a workout. I will have to keep that in mind.

Immediately after work, I popped over to the gym. I pulled into the parking lot in front of their giant windows, took one glance inside and almost turned around when I saw how ridiculously crowded the place was. I really do not enjoy exercising with a crowd (except for in the group class environment). It reminds me of the gym at my college. When that place was packed, it was PACKED. We’re talking 5 people lined up behind you when you were on the treadmill. It was always sort of amusing because the crowds were definitely noticeably denser around New Year’s resolution time. As soon as everyone was back to spending 20 hours a day in the library, there was a slight possibility of finding some machine available. 

Anyway, against my better judgment, I darted into the gym, ran 2 miles (I had planned to do three, but I cut out a little early) and I quickly headed back home. That probably took care of 1/20 of that cookie. 😉 I can not believe how quickly I lose my running endurance. I realized that running is definitely not something that I can leave to rest for any length of time if I don’t want to spend the time re-training myself to be able to run a quarter of a mile! This is definitely a good thing to remember as colder weather approaches since I definitely will not be running any races in the dead of winter. In the absence of some specific running-related goal, I need to make sure to keep myself clocking the miles so I am not starting back from scratch again in the spring!

Tomorrow is a biiiiiiig day! It just happens to be BodyPump day! I am SO excited to try out a barbell class! I can’t wait! GAH! I don’t know the first thing about choosing weights or anything of that nature, but we will see how it goes.

I hope you had a lovely day. Thanks for reading!

 

One thought on “Say No To The Cookies

  1. Mmmm, that cookie sounds delicious! Have you ever tried a Luna bar? They’re really good, especially the lemon zest one and white chocolate macadamia one. They’re also healthy too :). Hope your barbell class was super awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

