A Wrist Workout

First of all, for those of you who have suggested some new workout attire for me, thank you! I think it’s time to reinvest. A couple of new workout outfits are on my horizons.

Now, on to business!

Every once in a while, I come to realize that some things are worth dropping an extra dollar or two on. It is that simple. Take for example, fall squash.

One of my favorite fall foods is winter squash. I like just about every one that I’ve tried, but my favorites are butternut and acorn. Last weekend, I happened to pick up a butternut squash with intentions of testing out a creamy risotto-style fall squash dish which I finally got around to today!

In the end, it was very filling and quite delicious, but oh my goodness, the work it took to get there!

Let me tell you, if I have ever wished that I shelled out a couple of extra dollars for a convenience item, it was tonight! Those little packages of pre-cubed squash that are all peeled and washed and diced are genius. I fought a good fight today. And almost lost a finger or two!

Step one was cutting off the bottom of the thing so that it had a flat surface to stand on. Sounds easy enough, no? Well that took about 5 minutes.

Next, I peeled the beast:

Fifteen minutes later,  I was left with this and was juuuuuust about ready to order Chinese.

Miraculously, I was able to cut the thing in half. PROGRESS! 

After about three and a half hours of slicing, peeling, dicing and swearing, I was left with this:

SUCCESS! Plus, I still have all ten of my finger and no new band-aids 😉 I’m not sure what the deal is, but about two weeks ago, I cut my finger cutting a potato and ever since then, I have been a little sheepish about slicing things! (Also, for the record. This definitely did NOT take me three and a half hours…)

Anyway, I wish I could offer some fantastic tips for preparing squash, but all I have to say is be careful, and get ready for quite the wrist workout!

In the end I ended up with a delicious batch of the faux-sitto if you will (Faux-Risotto? Get it? Ha. Not funny, I know.)

With less than a tablespoon of olive oil in the whole dish, it was a healthy and filling dinner that I had along with one of my very favorite non-meat staples:

MorningStar “Chick Patties Original” can’t be beat. One has just 140 calories and they taste just like chicken nuggets! The only difference is: with these you know exactly what you’re eating– no mystery meat here! I am definitely not a vegetarian and I don’t think that I could ever go totally vegetarian (though I’ve done it before for Lent!), but I love these alternatives anyway. I have about a dozen different healthy “staple” dishes that involve various MorningStar products!

Anyway, I wish that I could give you some helpful tips on preparing the impossible winter squash, but all I can offer is to BE CAREFUL.

Today’s workout was pretty simple and involved bits and pieces of my two favorite Jillian Michaels’ DVDs.

Tomorrow I plan to start the day off with a trip to the gym that will include my new favorite total body conditioning class! I also get to enjoy lunch and an afternoon outing with Katie! I love Mondays! (How many times do you hear that statement?)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

