Do. Not. Put. Treadmillsinfrontofwindows!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Greetings my fancy friends.

Tonight, I had about nine dark chocolate-covered coffee beans at work. Ohmygod. SO tasty, but they went STRAIGHT to my brain! I was going 101 miles a minute once they kicked in. It actually took me a little while to figure out what the heck was going on, but once I did I couldn’t help but laugh. Especially after last night’s post. The days at work will soon be getting longer and I think I found my antidote. Although I also can’t help but wonder whether or not those magical little beans had something to do with the spazz-ery that was my trip to the gym this evening.

As I mentioned, I got a week-long pass to test out this new gym, but it’s only valid from 8 am – 8 pm (if this were the gym’s actual hours of operation that would not fly. When I was training for the 5k, I used to go around 9 just about every night.) Today I worked almost straight through those hours, but I was left me with a whopping 55 minutes to sneak over to the gym and give the place a test drive! So after looking like a crazy person leaving work with gym shorts + sneakers + a sweatshirt from my job and driving over to the gym, I decided to hit up the treadmill ( I know, how I could I possibly be so adventurous ??) It was a disaster and a half.

Apparently, I’m not very good at switching gears anymore. I thought that after spending a whole day at work, the gym would be a nice change of scenery. A good little boost. Whoa baby. I was very wrong. Granted, by the time I pulled myself together and hammered out my planned workout, I was feeling just fine and happy as a clam that I went tonight, but let me tell you, it took me about 95% of the workout to get there. Let’s recap, shall we?

(Haha, it took me about 5 minutes to even figure out where to start/ which parts of the fiasco I actually wanted to include. It was quite a mess.) So first of all, let’s talk gym logistics. If any of you ever decide to open your own gym, please, please heed my warning: DO NOT PLACE YOUR TREADMILLS IN FRONT OF GIANT PICTURE WINDOWS THAT LOOK OUT OVER BUSY STREETS. Thank you in advance for your cooperation. Seriously though, there are so many things wrong with that setup. First of all, it was dark and I could see my own reflection in the window. Secondly, it was dark and everyone driving by could see me. I don’t like that. There was also a nice full-length mirror to my right side that much like the train-wreck effect, I couldn’t help but looking at. Let me tell you, it just confirmed this little sentiment that’s been in my head since I stumbled across it in a magazine: 

Source

Alright, let’s face it. That’s a total exaggeration in every way. No, I never actually thought I looked like that chick in the top picture. Nor did I really look like a rabid beagle today, but you get the idea. NO WINDOWS. NO MIRRORS.

Next, I planned to start off with an easy, ten minute/ one mile run and follow up with a killer incline walking set for 20 minutes. That’s a quick thirty minute workout which was perfect given my time constraint. Well, what did I do but accidentally stop the treadmill somewhere around seven minutes into the run. Granted, not a HUGE deal, but it always throws me WAY off when I have to take the time to re-set things and mutter to the screen for loosing my stats. The belt stops, and I’m left standing there like a fool. I always used to do this when I was doing longer runs pre-5k. There’s nothing worse than trying to pause the treadmill when you hit the three mile mark, but stopping it instead. Goodbye hard work. It’s sort of like running an ultra marathon and stopping to take a picture at the 105 mile marker, but instead, you just have to start over at mile 2 again instead. Bad news. (That was an awful analogy. Whatever.)

So “Then what!?”, you ask? Well next, I dropped my iPod and watched it bounce around, I dropped the paper with my inclines written down on it and it slipped halfway under the belt. I continued to look like a fool for a few more moments and then once again stopped the treadmill. It was like a sitcom routine, I couldn’t believe it. Anyway, after that lovely little strugglefest, I managed to FINALLY complete the mile run followed by the 1.5 miles of crazy intense inclines at 4.5 mph (sounds simple, but holy cats, inclines are nasty little buggers.) I must have RE-started the whole workout about 4 times. Good thing about that is that I got some extra work in, but I’d rather just plow through it uninterrupted! Good grief!

The good news? I still really like the gym. The only thing I’m not crazy about is the fact that 95% of the clientele seems to be in the 16-28 age range. I’m fully aware that this declaration probably makes me sound quite antisocial, but I really don’t enjoy working out with people my age unless I invite them (read: Jordan, Josh, Katie, that’s about it…) I’d much rather be working out with my Silver Sneakers buddies for some reason, but other than that it’s great. I’m sure they’ll be SO excited that their crazy little corner-treadmill-using, spastic, arm-flailing, window-abhorring friend with the sneaker that’s missing a good chunk of its sole is in it for good. 🙂 “Who invited her?”

Other than that eventful trip this evening, I don’t have much else to report! I did find a recipe for a protein shake that is supposed to taste just like a Wendy’s chocolate frosty. I plan to try this tomorrow. I will definitely report back on how that goes!

Have a nice night and if you hit up any treadmills, please don’t pull a Brittany. Hold on to your iPods, hold on to your papers, avoid the windows and DON’T. PRESS. THE RED BUTTON!

One thought on “Do. Not. Put. Treadmillsinfrontofwindows!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Mmm chocolate-covered coffee beans are pretty good and I don’t even drink coffee, lol. That’s really annoying that they have the treadmills right by the windows. Did anyone from outside wave to you? lol 😀

Leave a Reply

