Wacky Mac!

I love having a weekday off from work. It’s so fun to be able to cruise around when normal people are at work/ kids are at school. It makes me feel old and important! I also had a very productive day afternoon which is a bonus. (I would say “day”, but my “day” involved lazing around like a punk all day, taking multiple naps that were interrupted only by mini meals and Boy Meets World. (Have I mentioned how much I HATE sleeping a day away? It’s awful. But today I think it was necessary.) Anyway, let’s talk about the parts of my day where I actually did things! This morning I did manage to keep my eyes open long enough to fix up a tray of these cute little scones:

Immaculate natural scones

 

They come in a tube like dinner rolls from the refrigerator. At 180 calories a pop, they proved to be a perfectly reasonable breakfast option. Additionally, they’re “all-natural”. Hooray? (Please note: I do not put much stock in the “all-natural” business. I do appreciate the fact that there are no artificial preservatives and also no hydrogenated oils, but all-natural can mean SO many different things and so many meaningless things, I sort of just take it with a grain of salt at this point. Also, I wasn’t necessarily looking for “healthy” scones. Just ones that didn’t have 550 calories each like the other ones that I used to be obsessed with!)

Later on, I took an adventure to a gym and I think I’m sold. I really loved this one. I also couldn’t believe their monthly cost! For less than I paid for a one month membership to the local community center, I could join this gym that has all sorts of bonuses that the community center did not. Here are some of the things I appreciated the most about this facility:

  • Group exercise classes are included in the cost of membership. They also just introduced Les Mills classes (including BodyPump and RPM! Victory!)
  • They have a multi-activity room. Remember when I said that one of the big things I was looking for in a new gym was a simple, open room? Seriously, such a simple request, but it’s not easy to come by! I just want a wide open room where I could do my circuit workouts and random dumbbell-things and they have that!
  • It’s very bright (LOTS of windows)
  • No contract/ enrollment fee
  • Fantastic hours
  • Right around the corner from work AND home

Seems like a win to me! I now have a “trial” pass, so I’ll give it a go a couple of times this week and make sure it lives up to my dreams. I must say, there were a LOT of big, scary, intimidating dudes there. Usually, I don’t care one bit about that at all, but this was a little hard to ignore!

Next, I pretended to be a real person AGAIN and went to the grocery store! I love, love, love grocery shopping. I know some people absolutely hate it, but I could spend hours in the store. Why? I have absolutely no idea. I think you could probably trace it back to the days of my grocery store play set that I had when I was little. That was my favorite toy for the better part of my first decade. Anyway, my favorite find today was this little gem:

Pumpkin spice coffee creamer?? Sign me up.

Next it was dinner time. My very favorite college dinner was Annie’s macaroni and cheese. The purple box. It’s easy. Delicious. Done deal. (There is an infamous tale of me falling asleep with a half-eaten bowl of Annie’s in one hand and a highlighter in the other as I tried desperately to keep myself awake long enough to eat dinner and finish studying after work. Clearly, neither one happened.)

This is actually the first time that I’ve had this meal since MAY! As much as I hate to face the facts, I know that macaroni and cheese isn’t a particularly healthy meal and it’s also wildly addictive, so I figure it’s easiest to just avoid it, but tonight I figured I’d outsmart it!

Enter: peas, carrots and broccoli.

I am a notoriously awful vegetable-eater. I HATE raw vegetables, I don’t like salad (at least healthy ones– throw in some croutons and creamy dressing and maybe we could talk,) and I don’t love them cooked either. However, just like a little kid, if you disguise them in my favorite meals, I’ll be just fine! So that’s what I did tonight.

Annie's Mac and Cheese with veggies! After fixing up the box, I threw in some broccoli, peas, and carrots which resulted in a tasty and MUCH healthier version of one of my favorite standbys. A definite win (which is a relief after yesterday. 😉 )

So even despite the soul-consuming fatigue that kicked off the day, I’d definitely consider today a successful day off!

 

 

Leave a Reply

