Mind Erasers

Today it was hot. Hot as in the kind of sticky, humid, disgusting heat that makes you feel like you’re drowning in mud all day long. I do not care for that kind of weather. Not one bit! (Although, come February, I might be begging for it…)

There’s a little bit of funny business going on in the life of 5ks and Coffee Beans of the canine variety which has got me quite distracted. The combo deal of distraction + headache + STILL feeling like I’ve been run over by a train = no gym for me tonight either.Instead, I stayed home and played with the pup and watched Dance Moms: The World’s Greatest Mind Eraser.

I’ve decided once again to adapt my post tonight to suit the day. So instead of focusing on workouts and meals, this post will be all about my favorite mind- erasers. While THE Mind Eraser happens to be the name of a Six Flags’ roller coaster (one of the first roller coasters that I ever rode that also happened to give me a pounding headache for HOURS thereafter), these mind erasers are the things I turn to when I need to shove my own thoughts to the curb for a little while and forget about the world.

[But first, a note on the workout regime since that’s why lots of you read this blog. Today I decided that I would push back the calendar I posted yesterday by one week and start up with a new training schedule on Saturday. The first day of Boot Camp (which will be this weekend) will be the first day of the “September” plan. So stay tuned.]

Anyway, if you only care to hear about the workout updates, today’s post is not for you. Instead, come back again tomorrow! Oh! But before you go, a Motivational Quote of the Day:

(http://www.etsy.com/listing/98572470/albert-einstein-cycling-quote-print?ref=sr_gallery_14&ga_search_query=cycling+art&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=ZZ&ga_min=0&ga_max=0&ga_ref=auto6&ga_includes%5B0%5D=tags&ga_search_type=all)

Now. Let the Mind-Erasing Begin!!!

So while I could probably list about 1,500 of these, I’ve narrowed it down to 5!

5, Mindless Television 

I don’t watch much TV at all. I usually forget about the shows that I always tell myself look good when I see previews and other than that, I just don’t really have the time! When I was in college, I had a TV 2 out of the 4 years so I just got out of the habit! BUT, having said that, whenever I need to shift my thoughts to Absolutely Nothing At All, I always seek the assistance of some good old standbys!

  • Dance Moms: One of the best TV shows ever. Drama. Overbearing mothers. Beautiful dances. Crazy Instructor. Pittsburgh. It’s fantastic.
  • Melissa and Joey: So funny in a ridiculously UNfunny sort of way. Horrible acting, stupid plot lines, wonderfully bright set. It’s everything you could ask for in a 22 minute sitcom.
  • Gilmore Girls: I have said before that I am pretty sure that there is an episode of this show for absolutely every day you could possibly be having ever. I love that this show was so quick and witty and intelligent. One of my favorite shows of all time.
  • Shows from the 90s. I once read that watching shows you used to watch when you were 10 is a great stress-reliever and it’s SO true! It’s great to be able to lose yourself in something that has sentimental value and are also nice and squeaky clean. Sounds silly, but don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it!

4. Reading 

I have always LOVED reading. I have always had a voracious appetite for books and will read anything that I can get my hands on. Short books, long books, boring books, exciting books, I love them all. (Actually, I don’t love boring books. In fact, my tolerance for boring books is really quite low.)

Right now, I’m reading a book that was suggested to me because of my love for psychology and all things related. It’s called Defending Jacob by William Landay. I haven’t gotten too far into it (I’m about 1/4 of the way through), but it’s definitely a page-turner! I’ll definitely review it when I’m all done.

I also love reading magazines, blogs, articles, newspapers and apparently textbooks.

4. Nail Polish 

OK, so granted, Nail Polish itself isn’t a mind-earser. But painting nails definitely is. Again, a long time ago, I saw in a magazine that painting your nails was a great “study break” because it was mindless and made you focus your attention on something small and insignificant, but didn’t take too long. That is actually very true and I still love it! I have about 4,500 colors and love testing out new combos (thank you, Pinterest, for making this hobby SO easy!)

3. Pandora 

Perhaps the ultimate in all of mind-erasing, the Pandora Internet Radio station is the greatest! It’s so cool that you can configure stations based on artists, styles, genres, or even specific songs. Super easy customizing for any day, any mood!

2. Organizing and Alphabetizing 

I know what you’re thinking, and no, I’m not crazy. Tackling those little projects that you’ve been “meaning to get around to” for months can be one of the best mind-numbers around! Whether that’s organizing your DVD or CD collection (does anyone have CDs anymore? I don’t even know…) or getting rid of a pile of clutter, it’s all the same! Putting order into something that was DISorderly is endlessly rewarding and also one of favorite distractors!

1. Stumbleupon

http://www.stumbleupon.com/ —Forgot about this website? So did I. You’re welcome 🙂

As always, thanks for reading. I shall return.

Leave a Reply

