Runner’s High –> Runner’s OW.

Howdy y’all! Not much to report today so I’ll keep it short.

(Also, in case you missed it, here’s yesterday’s post all about my big 5k day. Lots of pictures!)

I am not entirely sure why, but I am so, SO sore today! My legs feel like they weigh about 400 pounds and my arms feel like lead! It makes absolutely no logical sense since yesterday’s run was only 3.1 miles (and definitely didn’t involve my arms), but oh my goodness! I feel like I’ve been trampled by a stampede of elephants!

Although a workout today probably would have ended with me dazed and confused in a heap on the floor, tomorrow I plan to jump right back on the horse. After yesterday’s festivities, this weekend’s eating and gym habits have gotten quite ugly! After a visit to the state fair (Holy food! I managed to avoid the funnel cakes, but that’s not saying much…), dinner out with the family tonight and fro-yo for dessert, I’m rearing and ready to get back on track tomorrow! I found a new workout in Fitness magazine that I’m excited to try tomorrow.

Evidently, I only have a few days left on my gym pass and I just can’t figure out what to do next. I think it’s time for a confession: I am a shameless club-hopper. Not that kind of club-hopper! The kind that jumps from gym to gym!

This all started a few years ago when I realized that many gyms offer summer/ vacation memberships to college-aged kids. This proved to be a great, inexpensive way to get into a gym when I was away from the one at my school. It was also nice because I was able to scope out different clubs near my house and figure out which ones I liked best. The one that I am currently at is probably one of my favorites so far since it is VERY close to home and also very welcoming. The only snafus are that it’s quite small and the group exercise classes aren’t included in the membership fee so it can get to be kind of pricey! I’m back in the market. I’m wondering if I might be able to get a couple of day passes to test out different facilities again since it’s been a couple years! (Interestingly, one of the things that I’ve had the MOST trouble finding in a gym is open space! I hate feeling like I’m in the middle of everything when I want to bust out a mat for some circuits or ab workouts! I definitely don’t think that’s too extreme of a request :-P)

So here’s a question for you, what’s your favorite exercise location? Is it the home gym you set up in your garage? A community recreation center? Or maybe just the streets of your neighborhood for all of you runners out there.

So to end today, a note of inspiration. I must say, in the old days this is when I’d regress. It’s when I’d start eating donuts again and convince myself that now that I’m perfectly happy with myself that I could “afford to stop trying for a little while” which in very little time at all would turn into me buying donuts and cookies for breakfast and lunch and “not needing to workout anymore.” NO MORE! Not THIS guy!!!   🙂

That’s right. No more giving up. No one likes a quitter.

Leave a Reply

