Back to School Blues

Who would have thought that after almost twenty years of school buses, classrooms, schedules, dorm rooms, tests, papers, roommates and the like that I would be entirely bummed to not be going back to school in the fall! Granted, I am 100% relieved to not have to worry about some of that stuff anymore (who needs papers and tests??), but I love keeping myself busy! I love challenges and I have always been the nerdiest bookworm that you could possibly imagine.

Interestingly, I don’t think it’s the books that I miss at all. This morning, I was at the mall with a friend and bumped into two kids that I used to babysit and their mom. They were picking out their brand new, back-to-school kicks. That’s what it is! It’s the pre-school hype that I miss. The new stuff! The anxious anticipation of what the next year will bring, seeing all of my friends again on a daily basis, and maybe even getting to take new classes. And yes, I know that I could go buy myself a brand new lunchbox any day of the year, but it just wouldn’t be the same!  Now, instead of all returning to the same common place, my friends are dispersing across the map and I don’t like it one bit. One went to Florida, another went off to law school, two others went to Georgia and Ecuador(!?!?!) That’s cool guys. I’ll just hang out here 😉

Clearly, there is only one remedy for this Back-to-School-Blues-y situation.

It's PBJ time!

Peanut butter and jelly with apple slices and a bottle of milk!

Let me point out that I didn’t *actually* order this because I wanted to be five again, haha. I went out to brunch with a friend this morning before I headed off to work and as I’ve already confessed, I really, really hate typical lunch foods. The cafe we went to was 95% subs, wraps and salads and 5% kids menu. So, I headed straight for the kids menu and picked the one thing that I knew would fill me up without entirely sabotaging my healthy eating!

Alright friends, it’s time to head to work now! I’ll be back with something new and exciting tonight! (On that note, I  just wanted to clear up how I plan for the 5KCB posts to run. Every day, I will post at night (they usually end up being published between 10 and 11). SOME days, when my work schedule allows/ I feel like I have something even remotely interesting to share with you, I’ll also post a mid-morning/ early afternoon post. So if you’re not finding a new and exciting update in the mid-afternoon, don’t despair, just check back! 🙂

Um, excuse me. No school means you can play we me all day everyday. I don’t see the problem…

Leave a Reply

